How to use the user upload CSV template

The user upload CSV template (available sent to your main district contact) is how Transeo manages automated and manually user upload. This method is used to preload all 4 user types (students, counselors, administrators, and sponsors) into Transeo.

After you have downloaded the excel template to your computer, you can open it up and begin adding user rows to the sheet. 

Note: Your CSV must be encoded using UTF-8. Any other encoding will produce an error without uploading any users. 

Note: If you are using CSV upload to preload the system in conjunction with an SSO method, the user’s first and last name will be reset on every login based on the response from the ldap system.

Serve Fields

  • First Name
    • The first name of the user. Will be reset on login if using LDAP or Google Auth.
  • Last Name
    • The last name of the user. Will be reset on login if using LDAP or Google Auth.
  • Email
    • The user's email address.
  • Default User Password
    • (Optional) The default password for the user to use if your district uses the standalone authentication system. The student will be asked to reset this on their first login.
  • ID
    • (Optional) The student's identifier within your school. Used for associating users in the Transeo system with users in internal school-based systems at your discretion.
  • Grade
    • (Optional) The grade of the user
  • Role
    • The role of the user. Defaults to student if left blank
  • Counselor Email
    • (Optional) The email address of the counselor for the user. If the user is a student and this is not specified the user will be asked to provide this information on first login.
  • Status
    • (Optional) Whether or not the user is active or inactive. Defaults to "active.
  • Move To
    • (Optional) A new internal code for the school to move the user to

Jobs Fields

  • First Name
    • The first name of the user. Will be reset on login if using LDAP or Google Auth.
  • Last Name
    • The last name of the user. Will be reset on login if using LDAP or Google Auth.
  • Email
    • The user's email address.
  • Default Password
    • (Optional) The default password for the user to use if your district uses the standalone authentication system. The student will be asked to reset this on their first login.
  • ID
    • (Optional) The student's identifier within your school. Used for associating users in the Transeo system with users in internal school-based systems at your discretion.
  • Grade
    • (Optional) The grade of the user
  • Role
    • The role of the user. Defaults to student if left blank
  • School
    • (Optional) The email address of the counselor for the user. If the user is a student and this is not specified the user will be asked to provide this information on first login.
  • Gender
    • (Optional) 0 for Male, 1 for Female, 2, for Other/NA.
  • Cluster
    • (Optional) The career cluster for the student. The list of numerical values for this field can be provided by your Transeo representative.
  • ELL
    • (Optional) Whether or not the student is part of an ELL program. "Y" or "N"
  • IEP
    • (Optional) Whether or not the student has an IEP. "Y" or "N"
  • LI
    • (Optional) Whether or not the student is low income. "Y" or "N"
  • Homeless
    • (Optional) Whether or not the student is homeless. "Y" or "N"
  • Status
    • (Optional) Whether or not the user is active or inactive. Defaults to "active."

If You Have Multiple Products:

If your school has purchased multiple Transeo products, use the Jobs template and add the "Counselor Email" column.  

Setting a user to “inactive” on the first upload will have no effect, they will still be added to the database. However, marking a user as “inactive” after their first upload will soft delete that user and all of their data. If at any point you need to retrieve that data, you can submit a new user seeding with that user marked “active.” This will restore the user and all of their data.
 

Note: If you do not include a user in a batch upload that is present in the system, the user will remain active. To mark a user “inactive” you must explicitly mark them “inactive” during a batch upload.